Hello world!

Standard

So, this is my first post in my new blog. This is me when I was around 5 years old. The reason my blog is named what it is. As you can see, even at 5, I was red and restless. Two things about me that I love, but two things that cause me the most trouble. Yes, I know the redhead stereotypes. I know all types of stereotypes exist in the world and most are a bunch of crap. But, from my experience, with myself and my redheaded son….redheads are handfuls with eruptive tempers. Firecrackers, we are. I have been since I was born and will be until the last breath. On the flip side, we do passion like no one else. In love, beliefs, loyalty…we don’t give up. It’s a bit of a conundrum with me though, as my Borderline Personality Disorder compliments, yet conflicts with my redheadedness. It makes me more volatile, but it takes away my spitfire sometimes.

Right now, my life is kind of in a bit of an upheaval. I’m dealing with a lot of stuff. My father’s ailing health. My mother’s aging. My husband’s severe back problems. My oldest son’s lack of direction. All of these things pile up and through the smiles and the laughter I present, my spirit longs to run. I’m not good at staying in one place, both literally and metaphorically. Right now, I am suffering from RSS….Restless Spirit Syndrome. I am longing for somewhere else. Right now, it’s somewhere tropical. Water is the one thing…the only thing…I have ever found in my life that quiets the garbage in my head and in my soul. This is where I dream about lately.

Photo from Shangri-La’s Villingili Resort and Spa

Alas, I am here in SouthCentral Pennsylvania dealing with health issues and back to school shopping. But, a girl can dream. So far, today has been a good day, so I can’t complain. I had a great sale on eBay this morning. I found a pair of brand new men’s shoes at my local thrift shop and bought them for $2.50. I just sold them for…… $35.00!!  Lovin’ that profit margin. It’s the little things in life sometimes. 🙂  Back to school shopping with my youngest son this afternoon. Then, cooking. Cooking is the other place I find peace and comfort. I love creating new recipes and seeing my family enjoy the outcome of my labor. It’s very rewarding. I’m not domestic, mind you. I hate the whole cleaning, keeping house thing. But, I LOVE cooking. If I come up with anything special, I’ll post pictures later.

So, this is kind of what my blog is all about…everything and nothing all at once. Kind of like me. I’m really excited to add this new platform to my daily life. I juggle a lot of different things, but I wanted a place where I could just be me. Some days are up, some are down. But, the one thing I hold onto through the sun and the storms is myself. I’ve never lost who I am at my core and this is the place where she can come out. All red, restless, neurotic and all.

Leave a Reply

