Life in Lists

Standard

Yesterday was the first time I posted in months. I always think I’m going to keep on top of things, but somehow life gets in the way and my writing takes a back seat, as usual. I’ve decided that as of April 1st, that’s going to change. I am no longer going to let me and the things important to me take a back seat. to anything. This is my life and let’s face it….I’ve only got one. So, from now on, I am concentrating on me and what I need and want. The best thing I can do for my family and the people who count on me is to take care of myself. If I’m not happy or healthy, I am of no use to anyone else. I have put myself first and it feels good.

Everywhere I look lately, anyone and everyone is blogging. There are a lot of good blogs out there. Ones that make you laugh. Some make us take a better look at ourselves or at our lives. Some offer sound advice. But, one thing I’ve noticed that really irks me is blog posts that are all lists: The 100 things that girls should know before going on their first date. 50 things to do before you eat dinner. Everyone seems to think they know what’s best for everyone else. But, honestly the only person that knows what’s best for you is you. If there’s one thing I know for certain, it’s that.

I spent so many years of my life worried about everyone else. What they thought of me. What they thought I should do or who I should be. But, when I was forced to take control of my own life. When I had lost everything and was at the bottom of the barrel and had no one there to help me climb out, I realized that I was honestly the only person I could truly count on. I know that sounds harsh. I know I have support from lots of people, but they don’t know what’s inside me. They don’t feel my feelings, see through my eyes, hear with my ears. What may be right for them, may be wrong for me. Variety is the spice of life, right? It’s what keeps this world so interesting and full of color. What list may be right for you to follow, may not be right for me.

So, in honor my anti-list blog post, I encourage you to make your own list. Make a list of what you want out of life. Make a list of things that make YOU happy. I don’t like to use the word “Bucket List”, because I think the small, everyday things count just as much as the big, once in a lifetime things. Some days, I’m lucky to put matching clothes on…that in itself, is a good thing on a bad day. Make a “Happy List” Try to do one every day. If it’s a huge, monumental thing that you’ll never do again, cross it off, add one to the bottom. Make your list alive. constantly changing. Let’s face it, what may work for you at 25, won’t work at age 40. Keep the list in a constant state of evolution.

Make it something you turn to every day. On good days and on bad days. Here’s a part of mine:

1. Write something every day. (I have started on so many novels over the years, but my latest one, I think has a huge chance of being great. IF I just work on it)

2. Always have great looking nails and never miss a nail appointment. (Yes, it’s shallow, I know. But, it makes ME happy.)

3. If you can have Mexican food, HAVE Mexican food.

4. Buying a new pair of shoes or a new dress always, always, makes a bad day better. (Thrift shop finds count!!)

5. Gummy bears make me smile and always make me feel better.IMG_20140403_152121

 

 

 

6. When no one else loves you, remember your dog does.

 

 

CAM000477. When it comes to food, the spicier the better.

 

 

8. Watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer will brighten up every day.

9. Hugs are magical cures for everything.

10. It really is ok to listen to that ONE song 100 times in a row.

What’s on your Happy List??

Leave a Reply

