Pop Tarts

Aside

Happy Friday everyone!! Weekends are when I get to spend time with my husband, Dan. WIth both of us working together on our own business, we work together every day. I do my writing and the marketing for our co-owned IT business and he does repairs, client calls, and business development. But, on weekends, we can just relax and be a couple. Dan and I have been married for 3 and 1/2 years. High school sweethearts reunited after 24 years and 2 failed marriages. Finding him again was one of the best things that ever happened to me. He is patient, kind, romantic, driven, funny, handsome—-pretty much the entire package. To be honest, most days I don’t know what he sees in me. My Borderline Personality Disorder makes life with me extremely difficult. But, he marches on. He cuts through the chaos, the crazy, the awful with his own brand of humor, love, and strength. He gives me so much every single day. His ADD is a part of who he is. I wrote this silly poem as a way of celebrating all the little things about him that drive me crazy, yet make me love him more.

Broken Pop Tarts

I can tell when my husband uses my car for the day,

It’s full of broken Pop Tarts and computers.

I’m late for an appointment,

5 minutes and counting

I searched the house for the car keys,

Finally found them hanging from the ignition

Fumbling over water bottles-some full, some empty.

Crumpled gas receipts in the door pockets.

Gas light comes on as I pull out of the driveway,

I’m caught up in the organized pandemonium of a chaotic mind—

And yet somehow, I find it comforting.

©Allison Cline-Saia

Leave a Reply

