Caged

Standard

Locked in a cage of my own making

with iron bars forged by fear, doubt, pain, and tears.

I hold the key to open the padlocked door

but every day the lock changes shape.

Just when I think the key fits and freedom is mine

a dark shrouded locksmith comes along.

He changes the lock and laughs at me

mocking my helplessness, taunting me in the darkness,

Throwing me crumbs of fleeting happiness,

making me believe I deserve the sweet tastes.

He takes every ounce of humanity from my being

and I am left empty once again.

I am my own captor.

3 thoughts on “Caged

Leave a Reply

